Skip to content

The Sun Should Go To Hell

October 2, 2009

The Sun, recently put on their headlines; BERBA: I FAIL. And It was nothing like what he said! He said that he is not happy for not playing good enough to prove the 30Million He cost last season.

Though he did admit 30Million is hard to live up to for a striker like him. I think he is really talented, and stood by him ever since he signed, I waited upto 5 AM at the morning in my time zone to wait to find out if he signed.

One of the main reason’s United fans 1st liked him was becasue he snubbed city to join United, even when City offered more money! Unlike some Twat from Argentina…

He said:

“In my first year I was disappointed in myself. I need to say that.

“It was a big pressure for me and maybe I failed myself. I think I wanted to prove myself to these supporters.

“You must remember, they are used to Best, Charlton, Cantona. I am just Dimitar.

“I got a number of assists, but I must score more goals.”

Berbatov admits things got so bad for him last season as the critics began to round on him that he would lie awake at nights.

He added: “I don’t know what I am doing wrong sometimes. Maybe it’s luck, maybe it’s me… who knows?

“At nights I have stayed awake thinking, ‘You could have done this instead’.”

The former Bayer Leverkusen ace also concedes he struggled to control his nerves.

He said: “My nerves were too much and that is my responsibility.”

Berbatov has made 53 appearances for United – scoring 16 times – since his £30.75million switch from Tottenham on transfer deadline day in August last year.

Two months into his second season he still splits opinion among

United fans, with some seeing the clever flicks as inspirational and others seeing his languid style as just plain lazy.

The accusations he was not trying reached him, though, and began to affect him to the point he had to check the statistics to see if it was true.

Berbatov revealed: “I will be honest. This criticism did affect me, but not in a negative way.

“I looked at our ProZone stats and saw that I was ninth in distance covered.

“I am kind of a nerd. I looked at them too much, maybe. By the end of the season I was fourth. Maybe this season I will be first!”

But Berbatov has failed to shrug off the reputation of being lazy on the pitch.

He said: “This is my style of play. I don’t run for no reason. I am always alert and ready.”

But Berbatov recognises some fans have not been happy with him since he arrived and insisted: “That is my fault, not theirs. It is me who must change.

“Manchester United are their club. They have treated me perfectly since I came.”

Berbatov scored his second goal of the season when crucially breaking the deadlock at Stoke last Saturday.

United went on to win 2-0 at the Britannia Stadium to go top of the Premier League.

But while he is more satisfied now with his game in general, he admits the goalscoring tally must increase.

He added: “I am more pleased with my overall game in this second season already.

“I feel that I have integrated myself better into the team. I am much stronger, much fitter. But I still wish I could score more.”

Berbatov says the pressure does not come from his huge price tag because he believes it is totally unrealistic. He said: “Who can live up to that sort of money? Nobody can. If I think about that money it is crazy to me. I can’t believe it.”

The striker often looks as if the weight of the world is on his shoulders but he maintains that inside he is enjoying himself.

He added: “I am a footballer playing for the best club in the world.

“I am playing with legends like Scholes, Giggs and Rooney. Being coached by a man like Sir Alex Ferguson. How can I not be happy?”

Berbatov may not have won over all the supporters but he certainly has impressed strike partner Wayne Rooney.

The England star is full of praise for Berbatov and said: “He is playing some good football and has had some unfair criticism.

The Only reason he looks lazy, is because of Rooney! Rooney works, really hard, runs like crazy, so his Work rate to some fans is not visible!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 6:36 pm

    THE SUN always do these kinds of headlines. It’s never gonna stop.

  2. Rite$h permalink
    October 3, 2009 12:43 pm

    In my eyes may be part of the headlines is true, Berba did disappoint me when he started playing at United, not very the Spurs-like way which made me a fan of his not so long ago, but at United he seems only to be interested in flicks and tricks + assists, which really does not do any good to his ‘striker’ CV. If he can just score more am sure he’ll win back the hearts of fans. Just look at Ronaldo shining at Madrid, though he is not a striker, and is not playing like one there as well, but he has scored so many already.

    • Zareef permalink*
      October 4, 2009 12:29 pm

      The only reason, Ronaldo is doing good, is because the defences in spain suck!

      I don’t think any1 will complaint abt him now, after seeing his goal that is!

      • Rite$h permalink
        October 6, 2009 8:39 am

        Oh I think Berba read my comment here 😉
        Anyways he has to keep them coming these goals to make himself a place in the lineup, and yes, special thx to Anton for equalizing, else berba’s heroics would have gone wasted 😛

Leave a Reply

